Review- Mail Order Groom

unnamed (8)

Mail-Order Groom

Author- Cindy Flores Martinez

Buy Links- Amazon  Kobo

download (16)

Rating- 5 GEMS!

Lisa is about to marry the love of her life Jeff in a beautiful ceremony she has spent months perfecting. Everything is going as planned or so she thought. One night something doesn’t feel right. Jeff hasn’t answered her calls or text all night. On her way home fron her best friend Daphne’s house after making wedding souvenirs she decides to stop by jeff’s place to check on him. Letting herself in she hears music playing, not any music but their wedding song, following the music to the bedroom ready to surprise Jeff she swings the door open to her own surprise. The man she loves in the arms of another woman….

Krzysztof is here on Visa from Poland in order to help his uncle Jerzy with his bakery. His visa ends in 2 weeks and unfortunately he has used all of his extentions. How is his uncle going to survive without him? Nothing can be done but to say his goodbyes. Until his cousin over hears her coworkers Daphne and Lisa joking about Mail-Ordergrooms.com.

Heartbroken and unsure of what to do now Lisa accepts when Jerzy offers her 25,000 dollars to marry his nephew and help him get his green card. She feels it is the right thing to do. After all she has already planned a wedding..

I want to start off by saying that this book was originally a Screenplay made into a book and I am saddened that it never made it to the big screen. It is the perfect Romantic Comedy! The kind you watch in your jammies with a glass of wine some chocolate and a box of tissues.

The plot is filled with witty humor and the kind of perfect moments that make a girl sigh out loud while reading. I could not help but be sucked into the whirlwind romance that soon develops between Lisa and her “mail order groom” Krzys. Krzys has all the makings of a perfect book boyfriend. He is kind, hot and has a sexy accent! (HELLLOOOOOO)

The author perfectly nails the inner dialogue of a bride to be then later on a bride scorned which is dramatic ridiculous and down right hilarious! This story is filled with the kind of moments that make the read (or at least this reader) think “Ha, that’s something that would totally happen to me!”

This is a perfect clean read for the hopeless romantic in all of us. I strongly recommend this book if you are in need of a sweet pick me up read!

excerpt

“Without further ado,” said Pastor Dan, “I now pronounce you husband and wife.”

Was it really over? I remained there, unmoving, as reality sunk in. Yes, it was over. I had married Krzysztof Zielinski. Despite my good intentions for having married him, I couldn’t escape the enormity of what I had done. I hardly knew Krzys, but I needed to make our marriage look real, or else he and Jerzy would lose everything. What made it even harder was that my heart was still breaking over Jeff, and nobody could ever know how I felt. Would I really be able to do this?

Pastor Dan clasped his hands together and turned toward Krzys. “You may now kiss the bride.”

Somehow, I had forgotten about this part of the ceremony. I wasn’t ready to kiss Krzys, or anyone else for that matter. Jeff was the only man I had kissed in years. What was I going to do now?

The photographer that I had hired for the day positioned the camera directly in front of us, and everyone in the room waited in silence for our blessed union.

I caught a glimpse of Mario and Jerzy who stood beside Krzys, and Magda who sat behind them in the front row of the church looking beautiful in a flowing floral dress. Daphne, Chloe, and Zoey were at my side in matching bubble gum pink maid of honor and bridesmaids gowns. They all watched me and Krzys with anticipation.

There was no way around it. I had to kiss Krzys, and it had to look as if it was something other than the first time.

As I prepared myself mentally for the inevitable, I decided that our kiss couldn’t be just any kiss. It had to be better than anything Jeff and I had ever shared and better than what he and Vivian experienced on the night I found them together. I was going to give Krzys the biggest, most overly exaggerated kiss in the history of my love life, and I was going to make sure we were in full view of the camera. I hoped with everything inside of me that Jeff would see a picture of that moment and that somehow, someway, he would feel the same pain I felt when I saw him kiss Vivian,

I stepped forward, but Krzys’s lips met mine first. The kiss that followed between us was gentle, soft, tender, warm, and kind. Yes, those are the words that come to mind when I think of that kiss. Nothing ever happens exactly as you plan it. Life is never the way you think it’s going to be. When it was over, Krzys didn’t move, and neither did I. We watched each other as if we were the only two people in the room. We had just experienced the most perfect kiss, and it had rendered us immobile. Before that moment, our marriage was going to be a clear, straight forward business deal with no emotions involved, but our kiss had just complicated it.

“Ladies and gentleman,” said Pastor Dan, “I present to you Mr. and Mrs. Krzysztof Zielinski.”

ATA

My name is Cindy Flores Martinez. I was born and raised in a suburb of Los Angeles. I have an MFA in Creative Writing with an emphasis in Screenwriting. I have been a

screenwriting instructor, screenplay consultant, script reader, and screenplay collaborator.  My novel, Mail-Order Groom, started out as a screenplay and movie project. I spent years shopping it around Hollywood, New York, and other parts of the world, and I had two well-known actors, one of them Academy Award nominated, interested in portraying the lead character’s parents. After not finding the success I wanted, I officially canceled my film production company in November of 2009 and embarked on the journey of turning my screenplay into a novel.

Links

Website Twitter Facebook Goodreads

One thought on “Review- Mail Order Groom

  1. Thank you so much for your review of Mail-Order Groom. Your kind words really moved me. I appreciate so much the time you spent reading my book and writing the review. — Cindy Flores Martinez

    Like

Leave a Reply

