Meet Monday- Author Julie Morgan Spotlight and Interview

00000000000000000

A little about Julie Morgan-
Born in Fort Worth, Texas I moved to Florida in 2004. I married the love of my life in 2005 and I’m the mother of an amazing little girl! Software analyst by trade, super geeky girl who loves Star Wars, Star Trek (the new movies too) and LOVE getting lost in novels. I enjoy many genres but my favorites would be paranormal/fantasy/romance, sci-fi/romance, murder/mystery/suspense, and the occasional YA that catches my attention.

I’ve dabbled in writing most of my life from writing poetry to writing a few short stories. In 2007 I wrote my first novel but never took it beyond finishing it. Maybe one day I will. July of 2013 I began my adventure of writing my first published novel, Fallen. It’s a paranormal/romance that pushes the edge of what we know about angels and demons. Select the books tab for more information, then visit my Facebook page and give me a like.

When I’m not writing I review books by fellow author friends and authors I’ve not had the pleasure of meeting. One of the best things I can say about writing is creating the world the characters live in. It’s an excuse to become temporarily insane and allow the voices in your head to actually talk to you. Getting lost in the story and becoming the characters, even if just for an hour, is one of the best ways to escape normal reality.

Her books in reading order.
Chronicles of the Fallen Series: 

  • Fallen
  • Redemption
  • Atonement
  • Culmination
  • Rapture, a short story

Southern Roots Series (may be read as stand alone novels):

  • Southern Roots
  • City Lights
  • Fueled Desire
  • Driven Hunger
  • Paramour

Deadly Alchemy series:

  • Deadly Alchemy
  • After Midnight, a short story
  • Fatal Intentions

Special Ops series:

  • Delta Force
  • Sniper (coming soon!)
  • Ranger (coming soon!)
  • Seal (coming soon!)

I have has the pleasure of meeting Julie Morgan at a book signing in Florida and she is the sweetest! She will willingly geek out with you about books and is so personal and you can clearly see she loves her readers! Plus she is super funny! Check out our interview with  her and let us know in the comments if you have any more questions!

EBL- Do you remember what made you want to become an author?
JM- I love stories and character development. I had a story to tell (Fallen) and the characters were loud & clear on what they wanted told.
EBL- How old were you?
JM- I was 37 when I officially published my first book.
EBL- Who are some authors that you look up to or admirer?
JM- There are too many to list out.
EBL-Who would be your dream co author?
JM- I have co-authored once already, doing my second co-author with Cait Reynolds and a third is in the works. We are not quite ready to announce it yet, but it will be a BIG announcement! I’m super excited!
EBL- Out of all the characters you have created- Which is you absolute favorite?
JM- That is like picking my favorite child! HAHA! Probably Clive from Southern Roots series. Or Samuel from Fallen series. Or Brody from Special Ops series…it’s hard to say.
EBL- What do you look for when designing or purchasing book covers?
JM- It depends on what I’m looking for. Everyone has different strengths and weaknesses.
EBL- How often do you find time to read?
JM- I try to read in between stories I write. Unfortunately I don’t get enough time to read and have found myself using audio books for this reason.
EBL- How long would you say your TBR is?
JM- If you could only see it… TOO LONG!
EBL- What advice would you have for your younger self who just started writing?
JM- There’s so much. Take your time and do more research on editors. Do more research on book structure and take that creative writing course you wanted to before publishing Fallen. Also, do not listen to the nay-sayers. Write what you want to write, not what society thinks you should write.
EBL- As an author do you have any regrets?
JM- Not necessarily regrets but there are certain situations I wish I had not entertained. Like responding to bullies. Like Elsa says, sometimes you just have to let it go. It’s unfortunate because bullies are out there.
EBL- If you could sit down and have a conversation with anyone alive or dead who would you choose?
JM- Alive: Suzanne Collins. Dead: My grandmother.
EBL- How often would you say your real life inspires your writing?
JM- More often than not. There are circumstances I see everyday, and others that remind me of things in the past. Sometimes it only takes a thought that blooms into a plot bunny.
EBL- Would you ever want any of your works to become a television show or movie? If so who is on your dream cast?
JM- Absolutely! I have dream casted my Fallen series. Henry Cavill as Samuel. Kellan Lutz as Alex. Michael Fassbender as Archangel Michael. Alex Pettyfer as Jonathan. Evan Rachel Wood as Lisa. Gabriel Union as Gorgon. The others I would need to draft out my line up.
EBL- How do you react or deal with negative reviews of your work?
JM- I read them, and if constructive, I take it into account. If it’s someone being a bully or simply being nasty, I ignore it. I actually had one reviewer on another book that did not like my first say in her review, “Wow, an author that actually listened to constructive criticism! I will follow her always!” That made me smile. See? We DO listen.
EBL-Do you have any upcoming signings you will be attending?
JM- Yes! Check out my line up on my web page. www.juliemorganbooks.com/events.html
EBL- What are you currently working on?
JM- A couple projects, but two in particular: Eternal Darkness, prequel to Deadly Alchemy. Blood Fortune, book one collaboration I’m doing with Cait Reynolds.
EBL- How do you prepare to write?
JM- OUTLINE OUTLINE OUTLINE.
EBL- Do you have a ritual before you are ready to write?
JM- Not really, other than research, note writing, muse images.
EBL- Do you believe in magic and or a paranormal world like in your books?
JM- I believe the possibility could exist if the potential was there. But no, I do not believe Magic is real, nor Vampires, Were creatures, or shifters. Angels and demons? Yes, I do believe they exist. Can we see them? I’m not sure anyone can actually answer that. Ghosts/Spirits? I think if you’re open to the possibility, then yes, it could be quite real. Everyone has had an experience with something supernatural, one way or the other.
EBL- As an author do you prefer to read via ebook or paperback?
JM- I prefer ebooks.
EBL-If you could have any one and we mean any one featured on a cover of your book who would it be?
JM-Without a doubt, Henry Cavill. That man is absolutely beautiful!
EBL-Who would you say most supports and inspires you?
JM-My daughter. 🙂
EBL- How do you deal with fear or jitters before a new release?
JM- I press publish and close my laptop, have a drink, talk to my PA, husband, anyone willing to listen to my gibberish while the publishing takes place.
Be sure to follow Julie on social media!
Goodreads
Leave a Reply

