Meet Me Monday- Kevin J. Kessler Spotlight and Interview

000000000000000

Meet Kevin J. Kessler!

A little about the author-

Kevin J. Kessler lives in Orlando Florida, where he owns the White Dragon Podcast Network, which puts out weekly podcasts on a variety of topics from Walt Disney World, to movies, television, comic books, video games and more.

A lifelong geek, Kessler can often be found at the many theme parks and local attractions in Orlando.

He developed the story for Rosinanti as a sophomore in high school, sixteen years before the book’s release.

Since an early age, Kessler has been an avid reader, often found lost within the magical worlds found within the pages of fantasy novels.

“It was always my dream to create such a world of my very own,” he said. “Even as a kid when my friends would want to play Power Rangers or X-Men, I would always create a new Ranger or Mutant rather than portray an established character. There is power in creativity! Creativity breeds creation!”

I actually know Kevin personally and have spent time with him running around Disney world! He has a very amazing and active imagination and I truly look forward to his future work! Being a newbie to the indie world he has grown so much since I first met him!

Check out our interview with Kevin below-

EBL- Do you remember what made you want to become an author? How old were you?
KJK- I was really young, like first or second grade I think. I was bullied rather horrifically and I found the fantasy world represented in books to be the purest form of escapism. My dad and I would read together every night before bed. As soon as I knew what a book was, I wanted to create one. I wanted to create my own world.
EBL- Who are some authors that you look up to or admire?
KJK- In the world of indy books I’ve met some truly amazing people. Kyra Dine, CE Wilson, and AL Kessler (No relation) have been amazing role models for me as a new author. They’ve provided such incredible guidance and support. I also love the work of Drew Karpyshyn and Mathew Stover. Those two helped shape and define me as a writer.
EBL- Who would be your dream co author?
KJK- Kyra Dune. I think we’d make beautiful music together!
EBL- Out of all the characters you have created- Which is you absolute favorite?
KJK- Aleksandra and Kayden, from the Rosinanti series. Sorry if naming two is cheating, but they kind of go together.. I love the complexity of a multi layered character arc. These are the two characters who, after writing one of their chapters, I often find tears in my eyes
EBL- What do you look for when designing or purchasing book covers?
KJK- Epic grandness coupled with artistic vision. I think the most important thing to remember is that the cover, the fonts, teasers, it all needs to fit the FEEL of the book. Also, I look for an artist who will put up with me being a crazy control freak! ( seriously, I’m the worst!) Wycked Ink does all of my covers, and they are AMAZING.
EBL- How often do you find time to read? How long would you say your TBR is?
KJK- Lavish Publishing has me on a pretty tight release schedule this year, so it leaves me very little time to read. My TBR list is probably 10 deep at this point
EBL- What advice would you have for your younger self who just started writing?
KJK- Write. Rewrite. Repeat. Skill comes from repetition.
EBL- As an author do you have any regrets?
KJK- Not really, I mean I’m still so early on in my career. I suppose getting things done sooner, but I feel like everything kind of fell into place at just the right time.
EBL- If you could sit down and have a conversation with anyone alive or dead who would you choose?
KJK- Jim Henson
EBL- How often would you say your real life inspires your writing?
KJK- Constantly. We’re all the sum of our experiences. What happens in life and the people we meet shapes us as creators.
EBL- Would you ever want any of your works to become a television show or movie? If so who is on your dream cast?
KJK- I would LOVE that. Honestly with today’s technology and storytelling, I would prefer a television series on Netflix or HBO or something. The only person I know for sure I would want would be Liam Neeson as Vahn Burai.
EBL- How do you react or deal with negative reviews of your work?
KJK- Not everything is everyone’s cup of tea, and you have to accept the bad with the good.
EBL- Do you have any upcoming signings you will be attending?
KJK- In May I’ll be at the I ❤ Books Convention in Boca Raton FL. That will be my first ever signing. I’m on waiting lists for a few others, most notably IBF here in Orlando.
EBL- What are you currently working on?
KJK- Rosinanti Book Three, a novella for the Lavish Publishing Spring box set, and brainstorming a ton of other projects in my head.
EBL- How do you prepare to write? Do you have a ritual before you are ready to write?
KJK- Not a ritual. I do tend to crack my knuckles before diving in though!
EBL- Do you believe in magic and or a paranormal world like in your books?
KJK- I believe there is some element of the supernatural that exists in our everyday world, untouched by the masses.
EBL- As an author do you prefer to read via ebook or paperback?
KJK- I actually love ebook format. Most of my reading comes from ebooks now.
EBL- If you could have any one and we mean any one featured on a cover of your book who would it be?
KJK- Liam Neeson!
EBL- Who would you say most supports and inspires you?
KJK– I have an amazing support structure, but my biggest suppporters have always been my friend Shannon Klempa, and of course my Nana.
EBL- How do you deal with fear or jitters before a new release?
KJK- I channel it into excitement! I’m usually not too nervous, because if I’ve okayed it for print then I’m confident in it.

You can follow Kevin on social media-

OFFICIAL WEB SITE: http://www.authorkevinjkessler.com
FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/kevinjkesslerauthor
TWITTER: @KevinJKessler
INSTAGRAM: @WhiteDragonPN
OFFICIAL ROSINANTI FAN GROUP: http://www.facebook.com/groups/rosinanti

Leave a Reply

