A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest Review

000000000000000

Title- A Shade of Vampire

Author- Bella Forrest

Genre-  Paranormal

Purchase Link- Amazon KU

synopsis

On the evening of Sofia Claremont’s seventeenth birthday, she is sucked into a nightmare from which she cannot wake. A quiet evening walk along a beach brings her face to face with a dangerous pale creature that craves much more than her blood.

She is kidnapped to The Shade, an enchanted island where the sun is eternally forbidden to shine. An island uncharted by any map and ruled by the most powerful vampire coven on the planet. She wakes here as a slave, a captive in chains.

Sofia’s life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she is selected out of hundreds of girls to take up residence in the tree-top harem of Derek Novak, the dark royal prince.

Despite his addiction to power and obsessive thirst for her blood, Sofia soon realizes that the safest place on the island is within his quarters, and she must do all within her power to win him over if she is to survive even one more night.

Will she succeed? Or is she destined to the same fate that all other girls have met at the hands of the Novaks?

download (16)

Reviewed by Crystal H.

Sofia Clermont thinks that 2 weeks in Cancun is just what she needs! Not only will she and the Hudsons (the family her Father pawned her off on) get some much needed fun in the sun but she can finally tell Ben Hudson how she feels. Ben is the only person who understands her and though he may see her just as a friend she hopes she can change his mind on this trip.

Her plan is ruined when one of Ben’s sexy exes just so happens to be staying at the same hotel. Just like that her hopes are stomped on and to add salt to her wounds Ben forgets her birthday. In an effort to but some distance between them she runs to the beach and that’s when her life takes a turn in a nightmarish way.

The Sweet-

Okay I am maybe the biggest Twilight fan you will ever meet. Literally. When having a bad day I often revisit the saga that changed my life-the saga that made me love reading again and I recently made my tough macho man gamer of a boyfriend watch a Twilight Marathon with me while I wore my New Moon tshirt…. Since Twilight I have yet to find a story based on Vampire that really and truly grabbed and kept my attention but this book did. I read it in one sitting and was so intrigued by the writers take on Vampires that I devoured it. I found some aspects of the story so original and well written. The author clearly tried to carve out her own take on your typical cookie cutter vampire story and she succeeded in many parts of the story.

The Sour-

Yes the author succeeded in being original in about 85 percent of the story. There were some characteristics of this story I recognized from past books I have read that were so cliche and unoriginal.  The Instalove between the Derek and Sofia was one for sure. He immediately was so intrigued by her and was so taken by her- it kind of left a bad taste in my mouth.

As the first in the series as with my beloved Twilight it had its hiccups but still shined brightly and I for one look forward to reading the many installments and diving into the world the author has created. I proudly rate this story with 4 out of 5 cupcakes.

ATA

Best known for writing fantasy, Bella Forrest is a lover of romance, action and mystery-infused stories with twists you don’t see coming. She has sold over six million books since her first novel was published in 2012.

Leave a Reply

