Banshee Blues by Belinda Sheenan Review

Title- Banshee Blues

Author- Bilinda Sheenan

Purchase Link-Amazon

Genre- Urban Fantasy

I have a simple arrangement with the Faerie Court: I track down the beings they want found and in exchange for that, they let me live. But a girls gotta eat, even a banished banshee, so I do what I have to, even if that means working for humans. Rent money doesn’t grow on trees.

I have a simple arrangement with the Faerie Court: I track down the beings they want found and in exchange for that, they let me live. But a girls gotta eat, even a banished banshee, so I do what I have to, even if that means working for humans. Rent money doesn’t grow on trees.

Darcey Thorne is one of the last of her kind — a banshee, harbinger of death — but due to a past indiscretion which saw her imprison her ex-lover, she now works as a bounty hunter for the Faerie Court.

When the Court jerks her chain and tells her to hunt down MacNa, an old friend, Darcey has no choice but to obey. Considering the last time she laid eyes on her prey, he tried to kill her, Darcey decides hunting him is the perfect mix of business and pleasure.

Dealing with witch-traffickers and a sexy ex-god boss is all in a day’s work for a bounty-hunting banshee, but being shot with iron bullets and being framed for murder is above and beyond the call of duty.

If Darcey doesn’t get to the heart of the matter soon, there will be one less banshee in the world.

Darcey Thorne’s past has gotten her banished from her home and left her in servitude to the Faerie Court. It has also left her with draining powers and as one of the last of her kind there is no way for Darcy to know how long her magic will last.

Now banned from Faerie and living in the human world Darcy has no choice but to make a living for herself. After all a banshees gotta eat! To keep a roof over her head and kick ass boots on her feet she becomes a private eye. She is known for her ability to find things as well as people.

When a case that can feed her for months lands in her lap there is no way she can turn it down however the Fae Court also has a case for her that must be top priority and her enforcer sexy as sin Lunn is making sure she keeps her priorities straight- Little do they know both cases go hand in hand!

The Sweet-

First off I love all things Fae and magic and eagerly waited for this to finish downloading on to my kindle and curses my slow wifi when it wouldn’t download fast enough! I have never read a book with a banshee as a main character let alone one of the “good guys”! In that respebt I found this premise super original and creative,

Darcy herself was a well thought out character and reminds me of some pretty bad ass book girlfriends the likes of Gin Blanco,  Jill Kismet and Rachel Morgan. I quickly grew fond of her and cheered her on while reading. That is what we need more of people KICK ASS woman characters and this author did not disappoint with Darcy Thorn.

The story progressed in a smooth steady pace and the author placed the plot twist and actions scenes in all the right places giving the reader a reason to keep turning the pages. Sheenan not only does the Fae justice with this noel but brings in a very unique take on fae species.

The Sour-

I have only one complaint with this novel and that is the vagueness used when it came to Darcy’s past. I understand this is the first book and the author was setting a certain vibe but at the same it angered me how little was said about Darcy’s past and when it was brought up it was quickly swept under the rug. I want to know more about how Darcy ended up on this side of the realm and why. I want to know more about her reasons for her crimes.

That is the only reason why I couldn’t give this book a full 5 cupcakes but it does receive a very strong 4 cupcakes!

Bilinda is a writer living in the UK with a love for all things paranormal.

Join her mailing list: http://eepurl.com/bEgDrT
Find her at bilindasheehan.com
Find her on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorbilindasheehan/

 

Leave a Reply

